top of page

Amasonja (mopane worms)

For my first food review i will be reveiwing Amasonja also called emperor moth. They are basically a large caterpillar and their species is Gonimbrasia Belina. They are found chomping onto the leaves of Mopane trees that is why they are called mopane worms. They are found on Mopane tress after they hatch after the summer time. Amasonja are great source of nutrition, you can get them yourself from the tree or buy them and their cheap.


When i grew up I spent most of my time with my Late Grandmother uNoBabhalile may her soul rest in peace. Amasonja(mopane worms) was one of the food i looked forward to eat when they prepare it, we even had a song with my cousins which goes like this "Sidli papa el'namasonja, sidli papa el'namasonja " which means we are eating pap and masonja. those were the great moments we spent together as a family in my grandmother's place,

amasonja brought so much fun in our household. we all looked foward to see my dad and uncles coming back from Middleburg from fetching amasonja.


Benefits of Amasonja

  1. high in protein

  2. Healthy

  3. Easy to take care/grow

  4. Can buy them online

  5. Taste good

  6. Easy to prepare

My grandmother's Easy cook Recipe

  1. Pour a cup of water and boil them

  2. in another pot fry tomato and onion

  3. after 20 minutes boil drain them

  4. mix them with frying tomato and onion, add some spices and salt

  5. stir until they are soft then boom it's ready👍😊


Hope you will try them and enjoy! 👌😋

280 views0 comments
bottom of page