top of page

Conversation After

They said there's light in the other side of the tunnel

Then I went through the tunnel

Clouded by positivity I felt no pain.


They said I should not give up

Then I held on to a sharp rope

It bruised my flesh but my spirit was still intact.


They said I should not loose hope

Then I kept hoping for sunshine in the darkness

I held on firmly though I was slowly turning into a lifeless shell.


But no one told me I might not see the sunshine I hoped for

No one told me I might see the other side of the tunnel as a corpse

No one told me the rope I held on to will bruise me to death.


I "strong woman" expected to walk on a laid red carpet

Sit on the throne and be crowned.

After all they said he will stop one day and I will win this war.


Neither did I know that winning this war

Meant talking to my lifeless body from this other side

Meant a brutal death because I declared "I love you".


Maybe had I found someone to tell me I could be a Phoenix

I could rise above the ashes of abuse

Maybe I would have found courage to let go.


Now I am here having this conversation

Looking at my lifeless body

Talking to my left behind dreams

Crying with my loved ones

Wishing they could see me again.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Amasiko

bottom of page