top of page

It's time - Moving out

This has to be the biggest decision I ever took, it is the biggest and also the scariest decision ever.


After 21 years of living with my parents finally, I have moved out and let me tell you it is exciting yet frightening. This won't be the first time I will be staying alone but it is different. After high school I went straight to varsity, stayed in an all female Res I had no stress of any bills. Living in Res was different from completely finding my own space, in Res there's this sisterhood going on. In Res I had no bills to worry about because I had a bursary that was taking care of everything for me. But living alone with no bursary to look after me is another level of anxiety for me.



Few days ago I was startled when I had to pay my electricity bill, and I thought to myself when did I get here where I get anxiety from electricity bill. In Res and even at home I would turn on the heater and lights all day without any worry. When my Mom would shout at me for turning the lights on during the day I would think she is just being too much but now it is a different story. I do not know when did I become this SAVING guru but let me tell you I have been on the internet searching different saving tips, not just financial saving only but saving in different aspect of my life.


Although there is so much stress that is attached to moving out for the first time, it is a great feeling to finally be your own person in your own space. Because of the anxiety I have experience and still experiencing due to moving out, I thought to myself why don't I give my fam tips on how to survive moving out for the first time. These tips are to help everyone especially those who are moving for the first time straight from varsity and going to a new world of corporate. They will come in handy because I know the stress of Moving out + Stepping into the corporate ladder.


Moving out tips

1. Make sure you are ready and not being forced or rushing things.

2. Make sure you are financially stable to do it alone, pay all your bills and still have some money left to save.

3. Lower your expectations of places to rent, start cheap and grow from there.

4. If you want a roommate make sure you choose wisely, you don't want to find yourself living uncomfortable in your own place.

5. Do not expect to buy everything at once, make a budget and stay within your budget.

6. Accept hand me downs because you will need them and they will help you to not spend too much on thing you need for your place.

7. Search online for second hand goods that you may need, it saves money.

8. Use some form of budgeting tools, where you write all your expenses down to see how you spend money monthly.

9. Learn to cook simple dishes that you can pull through even when you are tired from a long day at work.

10. Build relationship with your neighbours because you will need them.


Embrace uncertainty. Some of the most beautiful chapters in our lives won’t have a title until much later - Bob Goff
26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Amasiko

bottom of page