top of page

Just turned 22!

Updated: Jun 22, 2021

...22 years of life

Wooo! we are here Girl, I am still in disbelief but unlike 21 I am confident and not afraid. I am ready to allow you to take me into your hands and maneuver around life with me. I am ready to go through 22 roller-coasters with you and I am ready to walk 22 parks with you. Although like 21 I am not sure what the future holds but I know you are here to help me through it.


To me 22 means life, greatness, positivity and grace. I know I am still going to make mistakes but I am going to come out with lessons. I am still going to fall hard but I am going to stand up with a more determined posture. I am going to burn but still I am going to rise from the ashes like a phoenix.


Sometimes I get excited when I see how far we've come but sometimes I feel like we ain't where we suppose to be at 22. I do feel like 22, while sometimes 22 feels like young and fresh but sometimes it does hit me hard that I am actually getting old. When I was young, 22 seemed like a distant dream on some days I was positive I will reach 22 but sometimes I felt like by the time I am 22 Jesus would've came back and I'd be in heaven. But here we are.


21 Things I learned from 21 years of my life:

1. Patience is important, patience slow you down so that you can put more work and energy in whatever you do.


2. Celebrate small victories do not wait to celebrate when only something massive happens, celebrate the smallest because they build up for the massive victories.


3. Protect your peace, make sure you do not let anything bring discomfort in your life and fight to keep your peace.


4. Take life as it comes, I am not saying you should not make plans but what I am saying is that live life as it comes. Somethings will happen and some will not just accept it and move on.


5. Be kind not only to people but to yourself as well, treat yourself with kindness a much as you treat others because you deserve it.


6. Be your number 1 cheerleader, chant slogans of encouragement and positivity for yourself, cheer for whatever you do.


7. Pray and trust God, the bible says in Proverbs 3:5-6 "Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths."


8. Embrace what you have, the smallest you have be happy with it. I am not saying you should not work to change it but appreciate what you have and use it to fuel the burning desire to work harder.


9. Find happiness from within yourself, be content with yourself, love yourself and prioritize yourself.


10. Take all your burdens to God, The bible says in Matthews 11: 28-30 "Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light."


11. Invest in yourself, create your brand, establish you path, get to know who you are, work on your self-esteem and fall in love with yourself everyday.


12. Have fun, Go out if you want to, meet people , enjoy your life in any legal way that pleases you.


13. Do not compare you life with others, live on your lane and live your life.


14. Practise emotional intelligence in everything you do as you will deal with different people with different personality, this skill will keep your peace.


15. Learn new things, whether it is language, skills, read books etc. do this to grow your brand and it also contribute in empowering yourself.


16. Spend time with family, dedicate time for them because they are important and they will help you keep grounded and strengthens your relationship.


17. Make time, make time for everything in your life. making time will ensure that you live a balanced lifestyle that is not based on one thing but stretches to other aspects of your life.


18. Stop trying to please everyone because you will never win this battle. Not everyone will understand you intentions and will love you.


19. Accept constructive criticism because they build you and make you a better person but be aware of mal-intentioned criticism because they will break you.


20. Know when to walk away, never sacrifice your worth. walk away from anything that does not respect and understand your worth.


21. Be who you want to be, form your own beliefs and values. Do not be swayed by the society or other people's opinion of you, Do you!


Let life take you on a beautiful journey as you grow old. It is what life does, and I want you not to be afraid about it. - eventgreeting.com
21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Amasiko

bottom of page