top of page

Letter to my Dad

Dear Mr M.G Skosana

Wow where do i begin, because since day one you've been next to me, supporting me all the way. how do i correctly express my gratitude, i do not think there are enough words that can even begin to explain how grateful i am.

This journey of 20 years since that day we met hasn't been easy, it had it's own ups and downs. This journey has been a roller coaster we have shared great moments, we've been through the bad times, we have been through the worst but you have continued to show me the true traits of what it means to be a dad.

Now as i am writing this letter it all comes back to me, you may be proud of me now but there were moments and days where you were not proud. There were times were i gave you hard times, i was not a good girl but your love for me surpassed all my old bad habits.

Remembering when i was young, when you did not allow me to do what i thought was cool by that time, when you never wanted me to do any sleepovers any where. That time, it use to annoy me, not understanding why you were so protective over me but now i do. looking at the world away from you i see the real reason why, now i understand and i am grateful.

Skosi your love is what made me to be who i am today, your teachings. I remember when i was young and suffering from self-esteem you would always tell me how beautiful i am. you helped me in defining who i am, you helped me to love myself, not to seek validation and what it means to be a woman.

Today i look at myself in a mirror and i fall in love with myself even more, i know i will never be a big girl in your eyes but thank you for allowing me to spread my wings, trusting that i will use all the teaching you installed in me.

Just like any human being you have your own flaws but you always seem to stand above them all the time. Now as i am growing up i realise i am more like you than i thought. Your strength amazes me all the time, you have been humiliated and disrespected but you always let it pass so that we can be happy.

You could have absented yourself from my life the moment you realise mom was pregnant but you did not. You stood your ground and raised me in all the harsh conditions life threw at you.

A kind man with a firm face, an unbroken spirit, a loving dad, great husband, amazing brother is what you are. A man who can go against all odds for his family is a man i know you to be.

With all your flaws i love you dad, better day are coming you will be living like a king.

Your darling first daughter

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Amasiko

bottom of page